Teaching with Video Segments

Posted on October 26, 2010

1


Front row from left: Albert A. Michelson, Albert Einstein and Robert A. Millikan. Photo: National Archives

I find the history of science to be deeply important for the understanding of our current state of knowledge. I think it is especially important that my students understand how The Atom has come to be understood, and how the scientific nature is to constantly search for a greater understanding of our surroundings.

When I present the History of the Atom, I use a variety of media to present the information because there is so much to gather and understand. This is a few thousand years of understanding we are talking about here!

My specific goals for the lesson are:

Students will compare and contrast the contributions of three of the scientists featured in the discussion of Atomic History.

The students will evaluate the contributions of the scientists featured in the Atomic History lesson for scientific fitness and their relative contribution to science in their contemporary time as well as in the future.

Break the students into groups of two or three. The students will choose the name of one of the scientists featured in the video. They will write, perform and produce their own video featuring the scientist and their contribution to atomic history. We would then put the video clips together with solid transitions and make our own new video. We would share this video on Edmodo so our other classes could see it.

The students will view and respond to two of the three videos posted on Edmodo each night. The students responses will include questions about the clips, more information that the students may have discovered through their study and lecture notes.

I would use the video to provided guided reading for my lower tracked students and my ELL students. I have found that students will respond better to the video if they have a task to perform during it. It also makes the video more permanent in their mind. They have not only viewed and heard the video, they also wrote and read about it. There are more modalities that they would have missed out on if they were to just watch the video.

I would print the scripts of the videos and omit certain words*. I would pause the video and have two students finish the script while inserting their own words. This would be a good method because the students could use their lecture notes, or other information they have gathered during the unit to fill in the script. It also provides a level of reactive thinking, where the students are asked questions on the spot. I would of course choose students to do this that were adept at working in this manner. *I found this idea on this site.

I would use the video clips to reinforce my lecture notes. This is one unit where I think that lecture is really important. I “tell the story” of atomic history to the students. They like the story aspect of how these developments have come along, and I think that the story narrative helps them understand the history more than simply giving them some notes. I would interspersed the videos into lecture/notes where appropriate.

Video that I picked:

Classroom Media. (2002).
History of the Atom: Part 01 [Full Video].

Available from http://www.discoveryeducation.com/

Posted in: Uncategorized