Use of New Science content Knowledge in Designing Instruction

Posted on September 30, 2010

0


Three slide examples from after taking Dr. Ps class.

Along the way in my education, I believed that I was going to be a history teacher, but this science thing kind of caught my attention. The history geek really never left me, so I have tried to integrate history into my science lessons. Some people would believe that there is no real time for that, but I feel it is important that the students know where this stuff came from, and that it was not just brought along in a week or so.
Dr. Petrofina is a professor who understands that science is a story that we have to understand as well as interpret. I took in many of Dr. P’s lectures and I was able to modify them in order to bring them to my students. There is no way that I would have had the ability to infuse my science teaching with as much history as I do if it were not for Dr. P.
The evidence that I used my new found knowledge from Dr. P. to insert into my science classes is most evident in the lesson that I do that focuses on the discovery of the atom and the discovery of the periodic table. Both of which have been developed from many different sources over a long period of time. I used to simply have the students write down the names and ideas of the featured players, but with a more solid background from Dr. P. I am able to expand upon what I did in the past which I feel helps the students gain a greater understadning of the path that these developments took, and how important rexamining scientific ideas actually is.

I have developed new studies in Forensic Science for my school district. This is an entierly new course, but I do not feel that this course would have been given to me without the background information that I learnd in the Bio course. The study of Forensic Science obviosly relies on biology and all of the other science, but biology is in the forfront of forensic studies. In my forensic class, I have used the study of skin cells and the ides of form and function to explain the science of fingerprinting.

The intent of this rubric area is that participant has learned science content through program courses that has been and can be applied in their classroom, and is able to demonstrate the application.
Passing:
1) Minimum of 2 instances of participant’s classroom use of their own new science content knowledge, at least one of which is to have already been implemented in their classroom.
2) Evidence: Baseline and Later authentic1 evidence is to be provided, e.g., part of previous authentic lesson plan (w/o new content knowledge) vs. new authentic lesson plan (with new content knowledge) in order to demonstrate growth.
3) Reflection is to specifically discuss the newly acquired content knowledge, from which course(s), as well as how/why/when the participant was able to apply it in participant’s own classroom. 1”authentic” means “participant created”, e.g., not copied from teacher guide, text, developed by a colleague, etc.

Posted in: Uncategorized